55. Word Bird

It has been a hectic week so far.  I realised this morning that I didn’t have a make ready to publish so decided to take an hour out this afternoon to get one ready.  I enjoyed making this so much that I forgot to take photographs at each stage and totally lost track of time. That must be a sign of a good make.

The directions for this make are by Ann Ellis in the January/February 2012 issue of Cloth Paper Scissors

I started by roughly drawing a body, wing and beak shape on cardboard as Ann suggests.

Then I cut the shapes out:

and this is where I got lost in a dream of tissue paper and glue and forgot to take any more photographs.

The steps are very simple: tear up tissue paper, stick it to the body, wing and beak. Then embellish.

Attach the finished bird to a skewer or other handy stick and admire.

January 26, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . Paper, recycled.

3 Comments

  1. sierralimanovember replied:

    very cool
    I know some little boys who would love to get their hands on it

  2. Ann Ellis replied:

    Aaah, gorgeous little Word Bird, loving the hair!

  3. madebypin replied:

    Thank you, Ann. And thank you too for the idea. I just love these little birds. I’ve recently made them for people instead of ‘Get Well’ cards.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

