52. Hopes and Wishes Chest

And here we are at the last post of the made by pin year.  I’ve made it…or rather, I’ve made a year’s worth.

This last make is a Hope and Wishes Chest for the new year.

I bought some blank chest shaped boxes.  (I learned my lesson from the very first make – an attempt at making a box!)


I found that it if you aren’t going to paint these, it is best to cover them with very thin paper.

I used specially bought paper for the middle one above and it was too thick to stick down smoothly, especially over the curves.  The left hand one is covered with used stamps from around the world and the one on the right is covered in a replica of the very first copy of the Times of London.  ( I think this one is the most effective).

I then covered all of the paper with acrylic medium gel and left to dry.

After 24 hours, I printed, cut out and stuck on some words to the outside and a map to the inside of the lid.

This is when I discovered that the layer of paper had made the lids too thick to close over the bases easily. I remedied this by rubbing a candle over the parts that close which allowed them to open and close a lot easier.

I used them as gift boxes and hope they might be used to store the recipients hopes and dreams for the year ahead.

Happy New Year everyone!

January 2, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . Paper, recycled.

4 Comments

  1. Angela Barrett replied:

    Well done Pat on achieving your goal, 52 items, impressed! I think the final one is very apt!

  2. Angela Barrett replied:

    Well done Pat on achieving your goal of 52 items by the year end! The last creation is very apt. Happy New Year to you.

    • madebypin replied:

      Thank you very much, Angela. Hope you will continue reading. Happy New Year to you too.

  3. CraftyNiece replied:

    There was a debate as to whether or not you’d made the boxes! 🙂 I love mine, but I’m still trying to decide what to put in it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

