31. Keyboard Cufflinks

I’ve tried to make things out of recycled computer bits in the past, some successful, some less so. This time I’m making Ctrl/Alt cufflinks from computer keys.

First of all prise the keys off an old keyboard.

I’m not sure if all keys are made in the same way but the ones I’ve used have a little peg that sits proud from the back of the key.  I found husband’s hacksaw and took the peg down to the same level as the edge of the key.

I used the same cufflink findings that I used in the post on personalised cufflinks and just glued the keys to the cufflink bases. (I think it might be best to use a glue gun for this but mine is on vacation at daughter’s house – I used regular all purpose Bostick).

P.S. 2 days later – thought the glue would be set enough by now.. definitely needs the glue gun.  Daughter, if you are reading and finished with it, can you bring it back please?

August 11, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Jewellery, recycled, Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

