13. Paper dolls

“What did you do as a child that made the hours pass like minutes?

Here is the key to your earthly pursuits.”

(When I first saw this quote it was attributed to Carl Jung but as I’ve found no reference to when or where he wrote it, I’ve not put his name to it.  If you know where it came from please let me know and I’ll be very happy to attribute it to the genius who said or wrote it.)

So, what did you do as a child that made the hours pass like minutes?  I’m guessing that asking the question ‘what do you do now that makes the hours pass like minutes?’ will also give a key to your earthly pursuits.  As you can probably tell, for me, making things makes the hours pass like minutes especially if I’m making something new. When I was a child, I spent many an hour making paper dolls. I came across this tutorial on how to make some and then had a go myself.

First draw some outlines on some cardboard packaging.  Anything will do – cereal boxes are perfect.

Sorry, this picture isn’t very clear.  I didn’t want to make the pencil outlines too strong as I wasn’t sure if I’d want them to be visible or not.  The outlines all have an integral semi circular shape at the bottom which will form a base.  Also make another semi circular shape for each figure. This will then slot into the figure at right angles so that they stand up.

Next go over the shapes you’ve drawn with gesso (a type of primer that you can find where art supplies are sold).

When that is dry use something like a pastel to colour the shapes in.  I used oil chalks from Koh-i-Noor and shaded the colour with my finger tips.I then outlined the shapes again with a darker pencil for more definition.

I coloured the bases at the bottom of each figure and the stands in green and then sprayed the whole thing with fixative.

When the fixative is dry, cut around each figure and each semi circular base. Then cut a vertical slot in the bottom of each figure and in the top of each base.  Slot the base into the figure and hey presto, with a bit of bending, the figures will stand up.

On another note, my good friend, Mary Fraser runs Poppyfields, a children’s charity. Poppyfields gives children space to express themselves. For many children, communication can be a real issue. Often they lack the words to describe what they want to say and that can leave them feeling angry and frustrated. Using creative play and listening to them in a relaxed and playful environment, helps them to unravel their thoughtsand worries.  If you would like to know more please click on the link above to contact Mary through her facebook page or if you would just like to support her, click ‘like’ on the page.

April 6, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Paper.

2 Comments

  1. sarah replied:

    love them – they are so cute!
    do you ever get frustrated you can’t start a longer make? x

    • madebypin replied:

      Not really. I have started a few longer makes as I’ve been doing these like a rag rug. x

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

