4. Personalised Thank You Card

Well, the craft morning at the library went very well.  When I got there at around 10am the kind ladies behind the desk told me that we’d sold 10 tickets.  Pretty good I thought and said to my lovely daughters who had come to help that they may not need to stay for the whole time as I was sure I could manage 10 children.  The event started slowly at 11am with a few small children and their parents drifting in to the room.  I settled the first few down and got to know their names.  Then the fun began.  By 11.15 there were 19 children and 12 parents plus 2 daughters, 1 grandson of 6 months and me squeezed into the room.  We brought in extra tables and eventually had all the children working away making beautiful origami hearts and then paper beads.  At 12:30 when we finished, daughters and I crawled out happy but exhausted!  Everyone seemed to really enjoy the morning and all left with either a beautiful card and/or necklace but I’m glad it is only twice or three times a year.

On Sunday husband, N. and I were invited to a work friend’s home for lunch.  What fantastic timing after a hectic Saturday.  We spent a glorious afternoon with J, T and their talented family and I thought this morning that I’d like to send them a special thank you.  Last week, in one of those synchronistic (is that a word?) moments, a fellow folksy seller, Cat In The Moon contacted me to say that one of my map cards had inspired her to make a card for a friend out of an old ‘A to Z’ using the page showing the street where they both used to live.  ‘Aha’, I thought this morning, I’ll make J and T a card using our old ‘A to Z’. So, here is how I made it:

You will need:

  • Some A5 size card.  I have a box that I bought at The Paper Mill Shop quite a few years ago.
  • Some backing paper to use under the map (the turquoise paper above)
  • An old A to Z
  • Scissors
  • PVA glue
  • Ruler
  • A biro pen that no longer works
  • Acrylic medium gel

Using the ruler and the empty biro score a line down the centre of the card on both sides where the fold will be.

Find the road that you want to use in the A to Z and using the ruler and grid lines on the map draw an outline.  For this one I drew an outline of a house.

My intention then was to glue the turquoise paper to the front of the brown card and then the map house to the turquoise paper.

Not so fast!

The glue spurted out from behind the turquoise paper and marked the brown card.  No problem I thought, it won’t show when it dries and carried on. the map didn’t stick well to the turquoise paper and the whole thing looked a mess.  Nevermind, I thought, I can fix this and using my trusty Acrylic Gel medium brushed over the whole lot. Not a good idea.  It looked even messier with glue spots showing through the brush marks on the brown card.  I peeled the map and turquoise paper off the brown card and left it to dry.  It has dried with brush marks so I’m going to give it another coat I think.

Gave it a few more coats of watered down acrylic medium gel and eventually got rid of most of the brush strokes.  Before the last coat, I raided grandson G’s  art and craft supplies for some glitter and found some little green sparkly stars that I dropped on the wet gel.

Left it to dry overnight.

Right, I thought this morning.  I will get this card finished then go out and sweep up some leaves before the rain starts.

Not so fast.

I decided to use double sided tape to attach the turquoise paper to the brown folded card.  Only mistake was that I didn’t throw the one I’d messed up away and ended up, in my haste, attaching the paper to the back of the messed up brown card.

Quick rethink.  It was impossible to take the paper off the card without ripping it so I cut the brown card leaving a small frame of brown around the turquoise.  Then attached it to another piece of card, grey this time.  You’ll see what I mean in the photograph below.

You will see from the photograph that the roof of the house is a slightly different colour…that is where the page of the map had yellowed with age.

Turned out ok in the end, I think.  Anyway, it is in the post to J and T.  I hope they like it.

February 1, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Paper.

4 Comments

  1. Lorraine replied:

    Phew! I thought this was going to be a disaster but it looks pretty good. Gripping writing there Pat! Great idea to use maps in this way. It got me thinking about what else we could use. I find it difficult to throw out old tickets from plays, shows, poetry readings, bus trips, flights, train journeys, etc, so I guess I now have a way to recylcle them instead of hoarding. Thanks for your ongoing inpiration. Lx

  2. madebypin replied:

    Thank you, Lorraine. I saw a really interesting use of maps in Making Magazine this month.(http://www.makingmagazine.com/)
    A chap had used a map to cover the wooden parts of an old chair. It looked really good.

    So get yourself some acrylic gel medium and those old tickets will stick to anything!

  3. Angela Barrett replied:

    What a thoughtful person you are Pat sending your friends a home made card. They will love it! It is comforting as well to know that even things you make do not go quite according to plan sometimes. I have to say I would probably have given up and put it in the bin at the stage where you attached the turquoise paper to the wrong card! Well done Pat.

    • madebypin replied:

      Thanks Angela. The things I make quite often don’t go to plan! I have a cupboard full of stuff that is half finished. One thing this blog is making me do is finish what I start. Maybe next year’s blog will be to finish all the stuff in the cupboard! xx

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

